Years and seasons

images

Those of you who have read my book will know that I love to write to the Lord. I thought that I would share what I wrote today at the beginning of the new year.

“I do not suppose that You are governed by calendars, Lord. You seem to work more in seasons. I confess that I have had a long winter, yet I have to believe that You have been at work in me. As invisible things happen deep in the recesses of the frozen earth; in the hibernating bodies of slow-pulsed, sleeping animals; in the bare-branched naked trees, to prepare them with the resources they will need for all the activity of the approaching summer, so You are preparing me for the work You have for me. I cannot see it but I must believe that You are doing it, for Your Word tells me that it is happening – that all things are working together for the good of those who love You and are called according to Your purpose.”

Ps 18:35 “You stoop down to make me great.” You meet me where I am, my God, which I so appreciate, for so often I cannot soar to You.

If you, too, have had a long winter, may you also know that God is at work in you, often as invisibly as in the apparently dormant trees and hibernating animals, preparing and equipping you for the summer ahead. May the sun break out in warmth and light and glory for you in 2013.

Leave a Reply

